Being a Tigers fan, I hear about the Grapefruit league all the time. So really, how do grapefruits and cacti impact baseball? If you must know, before the actual MLB season begins, teams travel to either Florida or Arizona for their spring training. Each team in the league has chosen a spring destination and they hold a few weeks of warm weather practice there before heading back to their respective clubhouses. The teams that land in Florida play together in what they call the Grapefruit League while the teams in Arizona play in the Cactus League.

It is the first time teams reunite after the World Series to prepare for the new season. While pitchers and catchers traditionally report for spring training several days before the rest of the players do, the entire team will have a week or two of practice before they begin playing games.
Spring training is simply just a season of exhibition games. Teams will play games almost every day, sometimes they play two games by splitting the squad in half and giving players who are deeper in the roster opportunities to show their skills. During spring training, teams only play against teams within the state they train, meaning there is no interleague play.
The split league system was founded in 1908. Using today’s league affiliations, the Grapefruit league has produced more World Championship winners and is leading the competition 71-34.
The Grapefruit League consists of the following teams:
  • Atlanta Braves
  • Baltimore Orioles
  • Boston Red Sox
  • Detroit Tigers
  • Houston Astros
  • Miami Marlins
  • Minnesota Twins
  • New York Mets
  • New York Yankees
  • Philadelphia Phillies
  • Pittsburgh Pirates
  • St. Louis Cardinals
  • Tampa Bay Rays
  • Toronto Blue Jays
  • Washington Nationals
The Cactus League consists of the following teams:
  • Arizona Diamondbacks
  • Chicago Cubs
  • Chicago White Sox
  • Cincinnati Reds
  • Cleveland Indians
  • Colorado Rockies
  • Kansas City Royals
  • Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
  • Los Angeles Dodgers
  • Milwaukee Brewers
  • Oakland Athletics
  • San Diego Padres
  • San Francisco Giants
  • Seattle Mariners
  • Texas Rangers